first year engineering (1 Viewer)

a-n-d-r-e-w

HSC
just a couple of questions regarding engineering. I plan to do engineering at UNSW next year, not sure what type. Do you learn the same stuff the first year in all engineering fields, and is it necessary to specify in the first year. Also whats the maths like compared to 4U maths in high school, i imagine it to be quite a lot harder. Any help would be greatly appreciated

BIGTYMA

Focus
HSC
The maths is easy and i only did 2u, however im only in first year, first sem. It might get harder.

Forbidden.

Banned
HSC
a-n-d-r-e-w said:
just a couple of questions regarding engineering. I plan to do engineering at UNSW next year, not sure what type. Do you learn the same stuff the first year in all engineering fields, and is it necessary to specify in the first year. Also whats the maths like compared to 4U maths in high school, i imagine it to be quite a lot harder. Any help would be greatly appreciated
Complex numbers, polynomials, mathematical induction, vectors, matrices, vector geometry, limits, continuity, differentiation, integration, exponential and logarithmic functions and hyperbolic functions.

Actually to me, they dig deeper into the maths you learnt in high school, where you learn the REAL fundamental theorems of calculus and the proofs of your logarithmic laws and of course new things like Riemann Sums, matrices and implicit differentiation.

Oh and that's what B Engineering (Flexible First-Year) is for and by the end of the year these students will be sent an e-mail with instructions on internal transfer.

doink

Clone
HSC
If you do electrical the maths becomes ridiculous and just when you think you have it they dump circuit analysis on your lap.

ianc

physics is phun!
HSC
hi there!

i am 2nd year of electrical eng at UNSW.

a-n-d-r-e-w said:
just a couple of questions regarding engineering. I plan to do engineering at UNSW next year

good choice!,

a-n-d-r-e-w said: