General Trial Questions (1 Viewer)

crimsonking

HSC
1. The trials is supposed to be an accurate guideline of how you are going to go in the HSC exam?

2. The trials is seen as a separate internal mark compared to assessments?

3. Too avoid 'bad' scaling, one must go better in the HSC than in the trial/internal?

I've asked those two question because I'm starting to get worried about scaling now (don't tell me to go to the other board [I have]).

Reasons for asking question:

1. My legal teacher has pretty much told us what is in our assessment (printed out a sheet of what will be asked), circumstances such as people getting 20% is probably the main reason for doing it. I was talking to her last week and she said that I was a band 6 student. But now we have what will be asked, how accurate is the trial compared to the HSC going to be?

2. If I go better in the trials (don't want to sound cocky), but now my teacher has given us that sheet, I'm pretty sure that I will get over 90%.

3. My friend who got 91 for his UAI said something like this 'your HSc mark should be > trials, and trials should be > than internal assessment'. So should I be worried about being affected by scaling? Should I go 'easy' in the trials and get something around 80%?

BTW, if you are going to answer questions about the scaling, please put it in Leyman's terms (no words like 'moderation, cohort', etc - I've tried understanding those threads, but it hasn't hit me)

crimsonking

HSC
Thank you for the reply, but for '3', what if I get something like 95% in the trials, 90% internal and get something like 80-85 in the HSC? WHich I think is the case for me.

Also, is teachers giving studnets a 'hint' common practice in the trials? (In defence of my teacher, the class is failing real bad and this is the only way to get the marks up. Bare in mind, many in my class are getting an apprenticeship after yr 12, so that syas how much they care and thats why my teacher gave the 'hint')

crimsonking

HSC