How hard is it to get 90+ ATAR? (1 Viewer)

Brotein

HSC
I'm an average student at a rank 50-100 school, ranking fluctuates each year as there are always those people who drag you down. But assuming I do a bit above average as I'm studying pretty intensely this year, would it be hard to achieve a 90+ ATAR?

Brotein

HSC
Above average in year, so say if I get top 25% ranking for all subjects.

Capt Rifle

HSC
Regularly update notes, create goals, timetables, plans. Be ambitious. Do lots of past papers...

SunnyScience

HSC
If you give it your all, you will get 90+. It's not THAT hard to get 90+ if you are in the top-league of your school and put in the hours and devote yourself.

Brotein

HSC
Yeah, I'm just wondering approximately what rank in my year I should be to achieve the ATAR of 90+.

edit: Also, would it be possible to comeback for english in term 2 and trials if i ended up in like the bottom quarter of the year for the first two terms?

Last edited:

SunnyScience

HSC
Yeah, I'm just wondering approximately what rank in my year I should be to achieve the ATAR of 90+.
Since you said your school ranking fluctuates so much each year, it may be difficult to tell.
What are your subjects and rankings in each?

Brotein

HSC
Haven't really received rankings for subjects, teachers always put it off. But I'm aiming for the top 20-30% percentile in my year for all subjects, that would be enough for a good ATAR right?

SunnyScience

HSC
Haven't really received rankings for subjects, teachers always put it off. But I'm aiming for the top 20-30% percentile in my year for all subjects, that would be enough for a good ATAR right?
It really depends on your subjects...top 25% in standard english is not enough for a "good" atar (though, it really depends on what you define as "good" (90+?)). Top 25% for chem, physics, 4U maths and Adv English should probably get you 90+ assuming your year isn't terrible.