• Want to help us with this year's BoS Trials?
    Let us know before 30 June. See this thread for details
  • Looking for HSC notes and resources?
    Check out our Notes & Resources page

Im no expert, but I have an idea for taxes (1 Viewer)

darkfenrir

HSC
Hi guys im no pro and I know little about taxes but I thought of an idea which I think might be sensible, regarding taxes.

I dont know exactly how it works but I assume people just get forms which say "You must pay this much tax" right? I was thinking that the goverment could instead give out forms that list out ALL the areas that the government uses taxes for, in whatever detail necessary, like, the government can simply say "Infrastructure" or they can go into more detail than that, listing each expense they make in infrastructure. Everything can be put onto a massive form and then people will, lets say, be required to "tick the box" for a certain amount of different areas, to decide where their taxes will go. Based on all the different types of tax, individuals and institutions can have their usual tax amount correlated with a certain amount of "boxes" the individual or institution must "tick" on the tax form.

\I think this method will almost reflect the needs of society, in a way. The government will be able to observe monetary distribution across all their areas of spending and halt those that most of society doesnt want. Then what society wants the most, the government can put more money in there. It will be a step in the direction of true democracy I think.

And of course one might ask the question "what if blah blah blah" well then I think the government can put out "trial" forms across australia and get a general idea of what society wants, then they can decide if its worth continuing actually following what society wants done with their tax money.

What are your opinions on this idea?

Last edited:

Blue Suede

a bedroom philosopher
HSC