• Want to help us with this year's BoS Trials?
    Let us know before 30 June. See this thread for details
  • Looking for HSC notes and resources?
    Check out our Notes & Resources page

improving your english (1 Viewer)

cl3nta

HSC
I'm a b6 student and probs top3 at my school. I was looking at my friend's work (who's topping) and his expression is just amazing. He has verbiage, clarity, ideas - the lot. My response is still solid but I want to improve my articulation. How?

Forbidden.

Banned
HSC
cl3nta said:
I'm a b6 student and probs top3 at my school. I was looking at my friend's work (who's topping) and his expression is just amazing. He has verbiage, clarity, ideas - the lot. My response is still solid but I want to improve my articulation. How?
Increase your grammar ..

If you want to avoid using the same word but wish to use a different word with the same meaning throughout your extended responses, check out http://thesaurus.reference.com ... Look at people's writing ... See how you can use their writing to benefit your own, avoid plaigarising by comparing to other texts or exam responses ...

Or chuck yourself down to English Standard if you can't take Advanced anymore ...

cl3nta

HSC
lol haha

I think i'm just gonna keep practising until I get 1st rank

ianc

physics is phun!
HSC
read books. and not trashy ones like michael crichton or john grisham and stuff like that, but classics.

Having a good writing style is half the battle with english, because it means that even if you havent studied you can waffle and it sounds good.

kloudsurfer

HSC
I was in the exact situation as you.