Law - credit average (1 Viewer)

dolbinau

HSC
For those who are doing combined law, how hard is it to maintain a credit average in the law units? (at least in the first year)

Considering I'd be just above the cut off assuming it doesn't change much) for a few programs it concerns me that I would probably be at the lower end of the scale.

thanks

Last edited:

misericordia

Confused Member
HSC
Uni Grad
I just completed first year law units, and I don't think it's too hard to maintain a credit average at this level as long as you study hard, but it's kind of difficult to predict because for sem 1 I scraped through (jurisprudence was such a pain) and for sem 2 I ended up with distinction. But yeah, you will do fine, I'm getting by even though I only did standard english and got 91 uai when I did the HSC (I'm an international student so cut off was lower).

AsyLum

Premium Member
HSC
N/A
Keep on top of your readings and assignments and you'll be fine, its not terribly difficult to maintain any sort of 'standard' just gotta know what boxes to tick off, so take first semester as a learning curve, ask questions of your tutor, etc see what style/how they mark essays and shit like that.

Also try and think of it as a culmination of things, rather than one final mark at the end, makes it easier.

dolbinau

HSC
misericordia said:
I just completed first year law units, and I don't think it's too hard to maintain a credit average at this level as long as you study hard, but it's kind of difficult to predict because for sem 1 I scraped through (jurisprudence was such a pain) and for sem 2 I ended up with distinction. But yeah, you will do fine, I'm getting by even though I only did standard english and got 91 uai when I did the HSC (I'm an international student so cut off was lower).
Thanks misericordia and AsyLum - what is painful about jurisprudence (difficult? boring? etc..)