Law: grades v. experience (1 Viewer)

-pari-

HSC
N/A
i'm a first year com/law student, and for the past few months i've been working in an alternative dispute resolution firm. its a very small firm, but the experience is really good ie. i'm not just doing secretarial work..

however on a subconcious level thats sort've made me slacken off in terms of grades. its as though i no longer feel a strong need to aim for distinctions etc, because i have some industry-related work experience..

thats not a good thing, i know, but whats the trade off between the two? is it more important to have one or the other....? which is the better to focus on at this stage?

M@C D@DDY

HSC
The short answer is that you need both. A Distinction or close to D-avg WAM is required for interviews at the big 6, and from there work experience will help distinguish you from the other candidates. Work experience alone I think will never be sufficient. So I wouldn't work too hard (even though I have done FT uni + 2 days work), especially in your first yr.

hfis

Dyslexic Fish
HSC
N/A
I'd also add never use experience as an excuse for slacking off and not caring about your grades. A graduate employer is never going to say 'holy shit, this guy has more experience than me; we don't even need to look at his transcript.' Your grades will always come into play somewhere.

I can empathise with you though - try having a grad job lined up that starts in a few months and being motivated to do more than get Ps!

lionking1191

HSC
hfis said:
I'd also add never use experience as an excuse for slacking off and not caring about your grades. A graduate employer is never going to say 'holy shit, this guy has more experience than me; we don't even need to look at his transcript.' Your grades will always come into play somewhere.

I can empathise with you though - try having a grad job lined up that starts in a few months and being motivated to do more than get Ps!
aha. lol.