Master of Radiation Therapy vs. Master of Medical Sonography (1 Viewer)

rod000

HSC
I'm deciding between Master of Radiation Therapy (Sydney Uni) and Master of Medical Sonography (Curtin, Perth).

SYdney Uni course is 2 years full-time + 1 yr professional practise. Curtin course is 3 years part-time but includes clinical placements (paid).

Has anyone had experince with either? Which one would you recommend in terms of career prospects.

katie tully

ashleey luvs roosters
HSC
Both have excellent career prospects.

Another suggestion is Master of Medical Ultrasound at Charles Sturt, you can do it entirely by distance (have to attend some pracs) and get paid to train as a sonographer while you do the coursework. It's 2 years.

rod000

HSC
Thanks for your response, Katie.

re: Master of Medical Ultrasound at Charles Sturt - that sounds like an option- butt.. what about the paid empolyment? Will CS Uni organise that? Or will I have to organise that myself? I have no experience in this field yet, although I'm from a health background.

katie tully

ashleey luvs roosters
HSC
Well it's sort of a condition of entry to the course (I'm looking at it as well).

In order to do the degree by distance you need something like 18 hours a week access to an ultrasound unit. The degree is sort of designed around the usual pathway which is qualified radiographers who already have jobs in radiography move into ultrasound and train on the job whilst studying. I am not 100% sure what the steps involved would be for non rads attempting the course. I am a non rad but work in an x-ray department which is why I've been given the green light, but I guess this option may be harder for those who do not already have a foot in the door (sorry I was assuming you were a rad)

rod000

HSC