Should I drop down from 2 unit maths to general maths?. (1 Viewer)

HSC
hey guys
im currently in year 12 and im kinda depressed and worried about my first hsc maths school assessment result, that counts towards HSC where i got 34 or either 38%,im not really sure but i got 30 something percent and im not sure if i should drop down to gen maths. im planning to go to uni after i graduated high school and do a course on being a designer, e.g industrial designer, but i dont know if i can make it in. i currently do standard english, 2 unit maths, biology, business studies and visual arts. i need and i want at least 75 to 80 atar to get into the course and uni i want. 70 atar ill still be happy. i have a hobby though on visual arts so im sure i can do well in that, but im afraid 2u maths is going to pull me down. and for other subjects i do, im about average in marks. any suggestions will be appreciated. thanks.:eek:

Last edited:

futuremidwife

HSC
Uni Grad
Mate got 45% in 2unit. Dropped down to Gen got 92% - pulled his ATAR so far up than the 45%.

That speaks for itself. Before you do this though, can your gurantee you will get at least 75+ in Gen?

astroman

HSC
But given how OP's marks aren't that great, it'd be difficult to improve upon them and actually attain a decent rank. Also, you certainly don't need 2u maths for industrial design; if anything, it requires visual arts (and English?).
industrial design needs trig

HSC
so you guys saying that if i drop down i have to guarantee to get 75% or over in every exam? my answer is i think i can, but it is just that i understand the work in 2u but when exams comes my school tends throw in hard questions that i struggle quite abit with. ill will do harder questions for each topic, but do u guys think is worth it or not?. i mean, im going for desinger in the future, does it require 2u maths?. part of me say i should stay in 2u and the other part say i should not stay. 50 50.

HSC