Should I drop English Advanced (1 Viewer)

MANGO1235678

HSC
Hi guys, so I am on the edge of dropping of dropping to standard english and i need some advice. I used to be a diligent student in year 10 getting top marks, then in year 11 I got 60 percent avg with a rank of 6/28 and prelim final exam rank of 3rd, but I put in minimal effort. I then made the mistake of slacking off in my term 1 common module exam as I was debating dropping, I scored 60% with a rank of 15/25, I am thinking of actually putting in the effort now and getting some tution, though I might need to catch up on the holiday homework. So I guess what I’m trying to say is, will dropping to standard english hurt my atar? If it helps I am doing excpetionally well in my other 4 subjects.

scaryshark09

∞∆ who let 'em cook dis long ∆∞
HSC
keep adv, its likely it will get you a higher atar
being in a standard class may make you subconsciously slack off a bit, so best to stay in adv
honestly dw about catching up on holiday hw, just put all your effort into a couple essays for each module and then just memorise them

liamkk112

HSC
Hi guys, so I am on the edge of dropping of dropping to standard english and i need some advice. I used to be a diligent student in year 10 getting top marks, then in year 11 I got 60 percent avg with a rank of 6/28 and prelim final exam rank of 3rd, but I put in minimal effort. I then made the mistake of slacking off in my term 1 common module exam as I was debating dropping, I scored 60% with a rank of 15/25, I am thinking of actually putting in the effort now and getting some tution, though I might need to catch up on the holiday homework. So I guess what I’m trying to say is, will dropping to standard english hurt my atar? If it helps I am doing excpetionally well in my other 4 subjects.