Soft Eng / Commerce =D (1 Viewer)

Kd14

HSC
Hey there, I'm a year 12 student and was wondering if I could get inputs on people doing this particular course, or at least Soft Eng.

And how does Soft Eng compare with Com Sci. I know there's a lot of threads here, but I want more insight from people.

Thanks. =D

underthesun

N1NJ4
HSC
There's plenty of soft/eng commerce people. Actually, I think that's the majority of the soft eng double degree'ers..

I was about to do commerce until I did acct 1A, and, well I changed my mind. But then I'm about to change my mind again, and probably resume commerce next year :/

As for software engineering, well, seng @ unsw, I doubt you'll EVER get something similar outside. I really really doubt it. The amount of workload is big, however don't be discouraged. It's certainly worth it.

One observation i've noticed amongst seng students are that they either "get it" or "not get it". For those who "gets it", things are easy, and for those who don't, it's not easy.

btw, in my opinion, seng = computer science + formal methods + requirements engineering + teamwork/communication skills

ace

is retired
HSC
uts, you summed it up pretty well

GO SENG!

my two cents, seng/commerce are two different degrees in nature (but good together), since it can open many more avenues for yourself later on

Kd14

HSC
underthesun said:
There's plenty of soft/eng commerce people. Actually, I think that's the majority of the soft eng double degree'ers..

I was about to do commerce until I did acct 1A, and, well I changed my mind. But then I'm about to change my mind again, and probably resume commerce next year :/

As for software engineering, well, seng @ unsw, I doubt you'll EVER get something similar outside. I really really doubt it. The amount of workload is big, however don't be discouraged. It's certainly worth it.