Study advice (1 Viewer)

felix the cat11

Pirate Love
HSC
hey everyone, im a first year law student at newcastle uni and i was wondering about peoples study habits.

after the first week i was given alot of reading specifically for crim law and procedure. During the hsc i used to read a chapter and summarise as i was going, but when i approached my crim law text book to do the same i realised that it would be far too time consuming as the chapters are completely massive and written on bible paper. what do other people do with their readings? just simply "read" them and try to take it in or summarise as you go?

wheredanton

Retired
HSC
Re: Advice...

felix the cat11 said:
hey everyone, im a first year law student at newcastle uni and i was wondering about peoples study habits.

after the first week i was given alot of reading specifically for crim law and procedure. During the hsc i used to read a chapter and summarise as i was going, but when i approached my crim law text book to do the same i realised that it would be far too time consuming as the chapters are completely massive and written on bible paper. what do other people do with their readings? just simply "read" them and try to take it in or summarise as you go?
You learn to take less detailed notes. If it is just articles (I assume you are reading the Crim law book by Brown et al) then just try and grab the key theme from each one and put that into a few dot points. When it times for reviewing you can expand, in your head at least, on those core themes so that your understanding of the article gets deeper.

But for procedure, sometimes it is just necessary to do detailed long notes. Don't worry, you will get used to it.

woebegone

HSC
Most of my lecturers usually provide us with very good overheads/notes.

What I usually do is, go on the subject home page, download the various overheads from the various streams/lecturers (the ones that seem the most detailed) ... and compile them into one document.