Teaching Extension 1 (1 Viewer)

Vigar

HSC
Hi all,

I'm a recent teaching graduate who's going to teach Extension 1 next year. What I'm looking for is some really good ideas for lessons. I really want my students to both do well and have some fun.

I've just worked through the last 10 years of HSC papers so I'm trying to develop understanding rather than just telling students to do all the textbook problems (Which would help to). I figured that the people doing the subject and those that have just completed it would be the best people to ask.

Would science style experiments for topics such as applications of calculus help?

Many thanks
Josh

addikaye03

The A-Team
HSC
Hi all,

I'm a recent teaching graduate who's going to teach Extension 1 next year. What I'm looking for is some really good ideas for lessons. I really want my students to both do well and have some fun.

I've just worked through the last 10 years of HSC papers so I'm trying to develop understanding rather than just telling students to do all the textbook problems (Which would help to). I figured that the people doing the subject and those that have just completed it would be the best people to ask.

Would science style experiments for topics such as applications of calculus help?

Many thanks
Josh
Firstly, welcome to BOS. I think that visual demonstrations of applications of calculus (ie. projectile motion, SHM) would be very useful. Even if it is just to help explain the different points within the motion e.g. At max hieght, y'=0. Range=2 x time to reach max hieght and how the vertical and horizontal motion is superimposed upon eachother. These kind of demonstrations improve understand and are something out of the ordinary, hence fun.

I think within the Mathematics and Mathematics Ext 1 course though, there are not many other examples where visual exprimentation/demonstation could be useful. Not many other topics require a mental visualistion when completing Q.