uni grades...how do you improve 'em? (1 Viewer)

misericordia

Confused Member
HSC
Uni Grad
i'm an esl student studying hardcore englishy subjects (esp. law, psych & arts)....i only got 84 for std english last year which doesn't help at all.
for the first assignment (sem 1, 1st yr, essay) i got a big fat P. it was for arts and i heard that it's supposed to be an easy subject, so i feel like a complete failure.
are there any way that i can improve my essay writing skill quickly? any recommendation? and are there any tutor for law? i feel like dying.

aileenli

HSC
Wow, welcome to Macq Law :)

I suggest you do a LOT of English revision before the big Law114 essay because they're MASSIVELY picky about grammar. My tutor said that I had phrasing problems, and I had a band 6 for Ext Eng I.

Suggestions for good essay writing is to form a template before you start the essay. For e.g., intro, argument, conclusion. And don't forget to link all your arguments back to the question. Also, try to use legal jargon because it shows off legal knowledge (that being said, don't over-do it either otherwise it will reek of wanker-ness).

Other general tips would be to do a lot of reading to understand how to phrase your sentences in a sophisticated manner.

Hope it helps :D

misericordia

Confused Member
HSC
Uni Grad
thanks aileenli...gah i must start looking for a tutor.
btw are there any esl people studying law? i feel like i'm the only one :(

ichiraku

HSC
I don't know about Club Macq, but over at UNSW we have a Learning Centre where you can go to have help with general writing techniques, critical writing, discussion and speaking skills, etc. Check around your campus, I'm sure there hsould be something similar at Macq

misericordia

Confused Member
HSC
Uni Grad
Thanks ichiraku! (note to self: find help asap...walk around uni...lol)
Sigh... By the end of this year (if my grades are still suffering), I'm going to have to quit law :'(.

aileenli

HSC