Career,, HELP ME!!! (1 Viewer)

khosanman

HSC
Hi all,

Well I got a job at goldman sachs, after leaving a crappy auditing job at a crappy accounting firm.

Problem is this job is not all its cracked up to be, its a bit too operational for me. Being an analyst at GS everyone thinks wow, how good, but it aint that good, I feel like id learn so much more in accounting. Been here for 3 months now, and left my last job after 3 months. I can't keep swapping firms.
I'm currently studying my CFA with the exam in december, and thinking about taking up CA next year too.

Thing is I would swap jobs to a good accounting firm, but in about 9 months time I have to go back to europe with my girlfriend, and its not gonna look good on my resume having worked in my next job for so short I'd imagine when trying to score a job in Scandinavia.

So really I just don't know what to do, stick it out at GS, hopefully find a better job within the firm soon after getting my level 1 CFA, or move on??

Or just stay in this job, get my level 1 CFA, and try to get as much of my CA as well while im there. So essentially I would have a year experience in this position, have completed CFA level 1, and then completed 1 or 2 modules of CA and have a year of the CA experience program behind me.

Also I have a years experience of having worked previously in accounting in denmark behind me with a boutique international tax advisory firm.

So what should I do, stick it out at GS in this job, stick it out and hope I get a transfer, or jump ship to PwC or some other big 4 if I can, which probably would only eventuate at the start of next year if i could.

PLEASE HELP ASAP, THANKS guys and girls

khosanman

HSC
well I do.

Its not totally ops. We create reports for clients and calculate there capital gains and toher tax liability info. And provide them with this and potential tax implications etc.

But its mostly operative trying to keep tehre CGT info updated etc.

bukwow

I am a Banana
HSC