Would u still do English (1 Viewer)

Winn

HSC
I am an SA student, and I don't have to do English. But I thought I did need to because I have always wanted to go interstate for uni.

Personally it would disadvantage me a lot if I had to count English as my best 4. Having said that though, I think it is important all high school students have the basic literacy and analytical skills which they will need in uni.

However, like many had pointed out already, the English courses now are entirely literature courses. Grammar, spelling, sentence structures, are not explicitly taught. I think that's more of a focus in ESL Studies.

So if this was a vote, I'd say, compulsory, yes, but not best 4. And while at it, I think they should make maths compulsory as well. :music:

cerys

because i can.
HSC
Yes.

Thank god maths isn't a compulsary subject though.

IndyJ

HSC
I agree that English should be more about grammar and spelling rather than literary techniques like metaphors and the like, leave that stuff for extension. I much prefer maths, physics and engineering studies because you only need to remember formulaes and you're all set. I spend too much of my time studying for english that could be spent remembering said formulaes. If english was all grammar and pronunciation based I'd do it because it would actually help in everyday life to stop me from sounding like an idiot.

So if english became non-compulsorary subject would I do it? Yes, but only if it were based on grammar and pronunciation.

Joel8945

HSC
Hey there students of NSW!

If english was a non compulsory subject would you still chose it?? Do you believe that learning about Hamlet and literary techniques will help u in your life?? This is just a curious question to see how everyone feels about English as a subject