Unfair Parking Fine! (1 Viewer)

TypeR

HSC
Hey guys,
I need your opinion in something

I got a fine today because I was apparently parked in a Taxi Zone on Sussex Street in the City on 31/7 at 11:55pm. I work as a security guard in the city and thats why I was around there.

But I remember that night when I parked at Sussex St, it wasnt a Taxi Zone and it was a 2P (or 4P) parking zone. I called the State Debt Recovery Office, and they told me to call the Sydney Council to request the photograph of the offence. I rang up the Sydney Council, they said they dont always take photographs but they will see if there is one (which I highly doubt)

Also, there was a work colleague with me in the car and we were both certain that it wasnt a taxi zone (maybe he can be used as a witness)

Now if they dont have a photograph of the offence, is it worthwhile to take it to court?

Also, if I take it to court and I win the case, will I have to pay any court fees? How about if I lose? Im a student, is there any government assistance so I dont pay the fees?

Thanks alot

yuri_gagarin

Banned
HSC
1) take it to court. 70% of fines get dismissed or whatever
2) *if* you lose, i assume you have to pay court fees, and no there is no govt assistance i can think of
3) get sum real legal advice from people with experience

TypeR

HSC
They sent me a photograph of the offence

Its a really funny one actually, it does not show anything besides the car being parked perfectly behind another car. No Taxi Zone sign or anything

here it is

TypeR

HSC
Nevertheless, thats not the point.

The offence was "Stop in a Taxi Zone"

Where is the evidence that it is parked in a Taxi Zone?

Why didnt they take more than one photo, or from an angle that shows the Taxi Zone sign?

quik.

HSC
Tell them exactly that, be polite but firm and ask that they drop the fine because the photo shows nothing