Am I Cut Out For School? (2 Viewers)

theitguy

HSC
Hi, I was wondering if I could get some thoughtful answers from this community, I'm positive that I'm not the only person who's been faced with this problem before.

Ever since I started high school, I really didn't get into the insane work ethic thing. I do what I'm required to do, write what I'm required to write, when an assessment comes around, I usually end up doing it at the last minute, and I've gotten pretty good marks all round (I've had a couple of bunged up maths tests, but other then that I'm an above average student, got band 5/6's in the SC). I have felt for around 1-2 years now that I've been targeted as the source of mucking around in class, ever since a particular incident happened. First question, do teachers confer about you before the start of a year, for example will my year 10 history teacher have shared her thoughts about me to my year 11 teacher, and told him to keep an 'eye' out? I say this because I admit, and it's a terrible habit that I do talk a lot in class, with 1 of my friends who's in most of my classes, but where I get in huge trouble, he doesn't get more then a warning.

My marks in my year 11 Ancient class are above average, but due to classroom behaviour my teacher has put me on a faculty monitoring system or something. My mum has been encouraging me (forcefully) to leave school for over a year now, and my brother and sister both achieved high 90's, my parents were both high achievers as well (I am the youngest). I want to become a software designer, I've always had a thing for it.

I just find it hard to concentrate in class. In English, I do heaps well without listening, I listen in maths mainly because I'm beginning to quite enjoy it. It should also be mentioned that I'm not a dumbarse (but I'm not too arrogant to realise that being intelligent alone is not enough to get you a decent HSC mark).