Big 4 Audit vs Insurance Company Grad Program (1 Viewer)

grad2088

HSC
I'm currently a final year student with two graduate program offers. I'm looking for some advice on both positions in regards to learning/development, exit opportunities, what the job would entail (how interesting the work is), long term career prospects etc so I can make a decision as to which one is more appropriate for me.

Job 1: Big 4 Accounting - Audit. Worked here as an intern and was offered a grad role. People and culture seemed nice, chances to experience different clients and teams. However, work was quite boring when I was interning (I don't particularly like accounting and it's not something I see myself doing in the long term) and Seniors seemed pretty stressed (staying back till 7 or 8 pm on many days).

Job 2: Large Insurance Company (e.g IAG, Suncorp, Allianz etc). 18 month contract. Three 6 month rotations within transformation, change, strategy, business improvement roles. Kind of vague job descriptions, company hasn't yet introduced me to my team yet so uncertain as to what the job would entail. Heard hours are a lot better than Big 4 (standard 9-5). Pays about $10k more than Big 4.

Bit mixed between the two offers as they seem to be completely different career paths to take. Any input and advice would be much appreciated, thank you!

BLIT2014

The pessimistic optimist.
HSC
Uni Grad
Exit opportunities would be better for the first option,especially after you have completed your CA.

Would you be doing your CA/other qualification for the second one?

Do you have mates who work in the insurance firm who can give you the low down?

BLIT2014

The pessimistic optimist.
HSC
Uni Grad
Audit typically has two busy periods :Jan to Feb and July to September.Most clients that you get put on between these two periods are much more reasonable.

grad2088

HSC
Exit opportunities would be better for the first option,especially after you have completed your CA.