• YOU can help the next generation of students in the community!
    Share your trial papers and notes on our Notes & Resources page

Ext 2 English (1 Viewer)

Lauren

HSC
I was wondering if any current or past year 12 students doing English Extension 2 whose Major Work is any form of a critique. Just wondering about your own experiences and advice for someone in Year 11 who's seriously considering a critique over a novella or poetry. Is it worth it, or should I stick with the more "creative" stuff?

blah says she

blah. blah. blah.
HSC
I ended up doing a critical response, but was planning on doing a critique of Simone de Beauvoir's "The Second Sex" and other texts. If you like more of a research based thing, then I'd recommend it. I prefered doing a critical response because I'm not too good at the creative side of things. What ideas do you have in mind? The only advice I can give you is to start early and be consistent, don't leave it till the last minute, otherwise you'll be extremely stressed!

chip

HSC
out of the three girls that did extension two at my school two did a critique
one left it to the last holidays to begin the other worked all year
the first girls was on the depiction of the family in young adolesent novels and the second girls was on the role of the father in shakespear
i think that if you enjoy writing this sort of thing go for it... both girls said and continue to say that they are the most un creative people on the planet and so this was a good option for them
overall for all the people who do ee2 the majority do short stories i'd look at this as a bad thing because there are so many more people to comepte with.....
so you dont have to go with creative stuff it is really up to yuorself to pick something that your talent and skills suits

Lolliana

chooshing a critical response is certainly not an 'uncreative' option