• YOU can help the next generation of students in the community!
    Share your trial papers and notes on our Notes & Resources page

How is this possible? (1 Viewer)

HSC
Howcome plain B Bus has a higher cutoff than the B Bus B Computing and B engineering B Business degrees?

Also i am a hopeful computer/software engineer student at either NSW or UTS.
Many are saying NSW has the best computing facilities in the state, however i do intend on doing a business/commerce degree along with my engineering.
For this i have to transfer from either B Eng (computer) at UNSW to B Eng/B Com - However my UAI allows me entry into B Eng/ B Bus at UTS.
I just need some motivation or good words that would swing me towards UTS, otherwise i think i'm heading UNSW...
Any pointers?

jase_

Moderator Jase
HSC
UTS has pretty good computing facilities and the courses have industrial experience in them (the Engineering one and the single IT degrees).

HSC
I am strongly considering B Business B Computing now.
How are you finding it jasee?
Any ups or (more importantly) downs i should know about going to UTS?
How are the lecturers/teachers there for instance? I have heard terrible things about USyd's staff, and their lack of diligence to teach.
UTS/UNSW?!?!?!?! I still need someone to pull me into the right direction.

0o0

o0o
HSC
N/A
alright, im a single business student so ill give you my take on that.

i found the lecturers and tutors to be actually really good, all the teachers i had were willing to help outside the normal times. i was also impressed with utsonline, which is the equivalent to webct in some other unis i guess, whenever a question was asked, there was an answer within 24 hours. at the end of the semester there were over a few thousand posts on the web, they're a dedicated bunch at uts. note, ive only done a few subjects so i wouldnt know what other teachers are like. i found uts to be really flexible in terms of timetable making and shit like that.

theone123

blue essence