How school scaling affects ATAR (1 Viewer)

iane

HSC
Hi guys,

I’m new to this platform but I just wanted to ask you guys for your insights into these problems.

I’m currently in year 11, studying in a school that ranks in the top 100. I’m studying Maths Extension, English Extension, Biology, Chemistry and Business Studies.

Many of my peers, especially in the non-extension subjects, are not willing to put in the effort into the course. I am worried that if I were to not rank 1st in my cohort for the subject, say I rank 10, would school scaling have a large negative impact on my ATAR?

For example, if I would get a score of 90 if I rank first for internals. Let’s say I rank top 15-30, imagine a big gap of marks from 30 to 31, how drastic of a drop off would my marks be?

Thank you guys so much, 🙏

HSC
School scaling? Imho you should look at your school's rank as a vague indicator of what level your cohort will perform at during hsc
It doesn't explicitly affect your atar, not that I know of at least (i.e. nesa doesn't look at your school's rank and be like "yup gg tafe for you"), but it does mean that if your school ranks lower, you should put in more effort to not depend on your cohort as much
Let’s say I rank top 15-30, imagine a big gap of marks from 30 to 31, how drastic of a drop off would my marks be?
Can you clarify what you mean here? Do you mean 'I' as in your school? If so, there is no fixed 'drop off'

HSC
Hi guys,

I’m new to this platform but I just wanted to ask you guys for your insights into these problems.

I’m currently in year 11, studying in a school that ranks in the top 100. I’m studying Maths Extension, English Extension, Biology, Chemistry and Business Studies.

Many of my peers, especially in the non-extension subjects, are not willing to put in the effort into the course. I am worried that if I were to not rank 1st in my cohort for the subject, say I rank 10, would school scaling have a large negative impact on my ATAR?