just curious (1 Viewer)

dissonance

I really like some contemporary composers such as Carl Vine, Stephen Adams, Matthew Hindson, Paul Stanhope. All that stuff I studied in 3unit, except perhaps the serialism....*shudder*. Contemp. music is very interesting.
Really? We had Paul Stanhope come into our school about three times to help us with our compositions. He's a nice guy, and helped us a lot with compo...he actually got interested in what everyone was doing, saying which parts he really liked and suggesting what could be added...sounds simple but I've never had a teacher do that for me before in composition.

What are you studying in 3unit? I'm doin an extension musicology essay as well, if I've understood you right....on Messiaen's symbolic use of percussion. ha, interestingly enough Messiaen actually employs the use of cowbells to help convey 'the truths of Catholicism', but I still wouldn't consider that very passionate...

when we talk about an instrument being 'passionate', are we really talking about the tone and harmonic range of the instrument? Or is it not that simple?
Oh, this is not simple :p
I guess I think the piano is passionate because it combines a large tone and harmonic range with a large range of dynamics. Almost any emotion can be communicated by a good piano player. Though the same could really be said for almost any instrument the piano just seems to have a bit more of everything. eg. a violin can be really passionate but it's restricted to playing a max of four notes and can not play bass notes. hmmm, hopefully I'm making some sort of sense here...:rolleyes:

Weisy

the evenstar
HSC
sounds simple but I've never had a teacher do that for me before in composition
i understand that - it does sound simple, and in a way it makes you look at your own composition in a different way, and it seems all at once to be both more simple and more complicated at the same time.