• Want to help us with this year's BoS Trials?
    Let us know before 30 June. See this thread for details
  • Looking for HSC notes and resources?
    Check out our Notes & Resources page

Learning to think logically? (1 Viewer)

Applikation

HSC
I did SDD this year and I've realized (perhaps a little too late) that SDD has nothing to do with coding. I have learned maybe 4 languages over the past 3 years and it wouldn't mean shit if i went for a job as a programmer.
If I studied this at Uni, well I wouldn't be able to because I got terrible marks and probably a UAI of < 30, it would all be theory, the designing, and learning to think "logically". Can anyone tell me what this actually means?

zvyx

HSC
what do you mean? (btw sorry for replying about 20 days later..)

coding is just one aspect of producing a program. if you look at commercial software, not only are there visible stuff you can see that weren't coded (such as the user manual, the design of the box, etc) but also things like the storyboard for the UI, the nice shiny buttons and the layout. The structured approach for solution development shows that coding is just 1 step (ideally). And its not the first or the last.

If you have learnt 4 languages over the past 3 years, it sounds like you have a passion for programming. If so, you must have developed something, a small game, maybe a side project to help automate some of your tasks, or even malicious code (I certainly hope not..). You've thought about it, and really its a comparatively small program in terms of length of code and time spent. After the first run, there'd be something wrong, so you would go back to the code and change a few things, and eventually you get your own little program.