• YOU can help the next generation of students in the community!
    Share your trial papers and notes on our Notes & Resources page

Opinions from Gothic Writers...or anyone interested ^^ (1 Viewer)

veriante

HSC
Ladies and gentlemen,

I am a short story writer suffering through much criticism due to the topic of my choice. It's one of those dark, hopefully deep and gothic, scary kind of stories that in truth seems to be where my main talent lies when it comes to writing.

I wish to discuss the concepts of love and death through the focus of stalking, using the idea of a stalker and the stalkee to explore the conflicting views on concepts and with the aim to simply frighten...to freak out the audience that reads it through empathy with the characters to make them think that they might be capable of carrying out the stalking or being the stalked.

Now...since you know about my story idea, if you have any opinions I would appreciate it. I need some gruesome ways to kill people, any freaky approaches for the stalker to use and some religious rules that the stalker should have.

Also, one question I would like to throw to you is whether, at the end of the story, I would require some kind of 'light'? Or if sheer fear would do the job...any replies would be appreciated...thank you ^^

Will_Sparky

Left BOS 8/7/2005...
HSC
Firstly: I personally really like leaving the end of the story dark. It makes the rest of us appreciate the light we can find.

Secondly: There have been people who have taken the worlds hardest Genres and ripped ass at it. Basically, it comes down to your ability. I think if you trust your ability to write a ripper Gothic story, then go for it. However if you have SEVERE doubts then i wouldnt. Thats just me, but then again, im not writting short stories, Im criticising them :)

mibiony

"fully sick"
HSC