Writing Legal Studies Essays (1 Viewer)

determine

Premium Member
HSC
Was wondering whether anyone could help me:

Is there a particular structure to writing legal studies essays? Is it written like a normal English essay, or does the structure differ? I have never written one before, and I need to write one now and I am a bit iffy on the structure.

Thanks in advance BOSers. = )

lcx

HSC
no its isnt so much an "English" essay in terms of the sophistication of ur writing but rather the content.

u must focus on answering the question - all parts of it. incorporate cases, legislation, media articles and other documents to support your arguments

u can have the usually intro, body, conclusion but makers will not care if ur intro is very short - just briefly state wat ur gonna say

so be concise and to the point - dont try and use fancy language and have little content as this will giv u a crap mark.
stick to supporting opinions with cases etc
and make sure u draw a conclusion

pickles07

HSC
I don't think structure in legal studies essays is as important. You should still have your intro, and list what youre going to talk about, follow that order and then conclude..

Usually in e nglish essays i get 7-9/20 but for my legal studies essays I have gotten 16/20 and 17/20, so clearly, it is more important on the CONTENT as opposed to structure..

ethan16

HSC
I don't think structure in legal studies essays is as important. You should still have your intro, and list what youre going to talk about, follow that order and then conclude..

Usually in e nglish essays i get 7-9/20 but for my legal studies essays I have gotten 16/20 and 17/20, so clearly, it is more important on the CONTENT as opposed to structure..