Is Mathematics hard? (1 Viewer)

HSC
I'm in Year 10 this year, and I'm struggling to choose between General Maths and Mathematics. I'm in the intermediate class in my school and my head teacher of maths recommends General Maths, and so does my tutor; the reason I don't want to do General Maths it because you have to make sure you do really well; otherwise you will get really scaled down, but I have heard Mathematics is a very hard subject and will recquire a lot of effort. Btw, I'm an average student in Maths, if you teach me something and get me to do some examples I can do it, but when it comes to tests I just freak out and make a lot of mistakes.

powlmao

Banned
HSC
I'm in Year 10 this year, and I'm struggling to choose between General Maths and Mathematics. I'm in the intermediate class in my school and my head teacher of maths recommends General Maths, and so does my tutor; the reason I don't want to do General Maths it because you have to make sure you do really well; otherwise you will get really scaled down, but I have heard Mathematics is a very hard subject and will recquire a lot of effort. Btw, I'm an average student in Maths, if you teach me something and get me to do some examples I can do it, but when it comes to tests I just freak out and make a lot of mistakes.
Do mathematics and drop down if it is too hard.
Mathematics is pretty much a carry on from yr 10 work

SpiralFlex

HSC
N/A
You can always try it out and drop down if you feel you need to. Anyone can learn the concepts in Mathematics from scratch with the right amount of guidance. You could also post questions and get replies on the Mathematics forums. For conquering tests, just do past papers under examination conditions. Also if you need any help with Mathematics post here or if you are shy, send a friendly PM and I will try and help you with difficult concepts. Also have a look at each syllabi.

Last edited:

mitchy_boy

blue
HSC