Starting in semester 2 ... will I fall back? (1 Viewer)

wb47

HSC
Hey Guys,

I am to start an engineering at UNSW in semester 2 (July) but does this mean that I won't learn the basics like I would if I started in semester 1? Will I be doing the same thing as people who started in semester 1 or will it be different?

Thank You.

Shadowdude

Cult of Personality
HSC
Uni is a very different thing to high school. You'll be doing subjects. As long as you've done the prerequisites for a subject, you're pretty much on a level playing field with everyone else.

Like for example, I'm in second year and I'm taking a first-year English course this semester. I have two semesters of uni under my belt, but everyone in the course met the prerequisites to enrol (i.e. pretty much none) - so I'm on a level playing field with all of them, technically.

dhampoet

HSC
N/A
you will be doing the same subjects that first year student are doing now in the first semester.
UNSW offers first semester subjects in semester 2,particularly for first year subjects.
I know that with electrical engineering at UNSW you can finish your degree in 3.5 years if you start from semester 2,with condition that you won't fail even a single subject and you will be doing summer courses twice,first year and second year.

Just remember that don't do ENGG1000 in the semester 2 because they only offer limited choice for your project. In fact they only offer 1 project for all students. In semester 1 you will get like 10-12 different choices.

soloooooo

HSC
N/A
Do MATH1131 in second semester (your first semester). THEN (don't fail it) do MATH1231 over the Summer semester. The reason for this is that a lot of second year courses (offered in S1 2012) have MATH1231 as a prerequisite.

soloooooo

HSC
N/A
You will have to do the same courses as people that started in S1 did (in their first semester or similar).

SylviaB

Just Bee Yourself 🐝
HSC
oen of my mates in my program started semester 2