single or double degree? (2 Viewers)

megaman64

HSC
e.g. If I wanted to get a job in the field of commerce will another degree help in differentiating me from those who only do commerce? and also how much is the workload of a single degree compared to a double degree?

OzKo

Retired
HSC
Uni Grad
e.g. If I wanted to get a job in the field of commerce will another degree help in differentiating me from those who only do commerce? and also how much is the workload of a single degree compared to a double degree?
It does help.

Workload is the same. You're just at university for a longer period of time.

get_back23

HSC
I studied Chemical Eng. a couple of years back. There were a number of commerce doubles in my cohort and I can tell you from experience that the majority of them were lesser engineers. There were exceptions of course, but alot of them either didn't have the talent to focus in two areas or were simply wasting their time with engineering and diverting their energies from commerce where they belonged.
Let me tell you something about an engineering degree. It's diverse, especially in my field, and there is no way in hell the core subjects are going to make you a competent practising engineer. You can't do half the work and expect to come out with the same skills as someone who has covered a good range of electives. I can tell you from experience that the electives are what shape your interests and help you stand out from a commerce double who can barely do the basics of the course. In my case in addition to normal chem eng core units I studied mining, polymers, green engineering and waste water treatment to list a few. These all helped my job search and my continuing professional activity. The basics are just that - a starting point for further engineering study.