Fail subjects. Move to other uni? UNSW to University of Sydney? (1 Viewer)

Wake Up

HSC
I am an electrical engineering student at UNSW right now,first year. I have been basically struggling the whole year because of personal reasons.
In the first semester I dropped all of my subjects before the academic failure deadline ( i lost $5000 scholarship because of this),then in this semester I only take 3 subjects.

I am really sure that I am going to fail 1 subject (phys1131) since I really did not know how to do the final exam worth 64% (practically I only wrote 1 page of answer,for 5 questions with 20-30 pages provided for answering the exam);
Though I got 35% already from the assessments during the semester, I am pretty sure I will get 0 for the final exam.

For other subjects I reckon I will only manage to get pass.

Right now I consider to take a break and apply for engineering ( i don't which engineering) course at University of Sydney via UAC to get a clean slate.
I got ATAR equivalent of 98.6 so there is no problem to get accepted

Would it be a good decision? People on the internet (here and boredofstudies) often said that UNSW is the best engineering uni in Australia,much better than University of Sydney.
Would it be a good idea to move to University of Sydney?
i would love to get a clean slate and apply my self to study.

or stay at UNSW with 1 fail or probably more?

Shadowdude

Cult of Personality
HSC
I think whether you move or not, that fail is still going to stay on your transcript.

Stay at UNSW, it's better and just try harder next year.

Wake Up

HSC
I asked the sydney uni admission officer and they said that the transcript would be clean slate because i haven't finished/done one year units worth of study. (At UNSW that should be 48 UOC)

Last edited:

halapenyo

HSC
if i was in your position i would take the clean slate. gives you another year to get your act together.

Blue Suede

a bedroom philosopher
HSC