Kill off a topic. (1 Viewer)

anomalousdecay

Premium Member
HSC
As a teacher, I've found Conics to be the most pointless topic. It leads nowhere, has little to do with university maths beyond knowing the basic equations, and seems to be used merely to tests students' algebraic skills.
I don''t understand why you said this. Look at every traffic light intersection. There are conics (mainly hyperbolas) for the lines along the road.
Therefore, it is useful for engineering.

In Physics we started throwing boomerangs around (our teacher is rad out of the classroom but doesn't teach in the classroom),
and I realised that the shape of a boomerang is hyperbolic. The Aboriginals were doing 4-unit maths before all of us, and implemented it for hunting :lol:.

In focal lenses and also many mirrors (particularly blind-spot mirrors), you use a conical shape for the lenses and mirrors to refract/reflect light.

In a way, mainly engineers will need Conics, but for pure mathematics it isn't as important as, say Complex Numbers.

Carrotsticks

Retired
HSC
N/A
As a teacher, I've found Conics to be the most pointless topic. It leads nowhere, has little to do with university maths beyond knowing the basic equations, and seems to be used merely to tests students' algebraic skills.
Actually, it has a lot to do with university mathematics and it most certainly does not lead to nowhere, because it introduces students to the concept of 'Projective Geometry'.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Dandelin_spheres

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Projective_geometry

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Lambert_conformal_conic_projection

I understand what you mean about testing students' algebraic skills (I also find it a bit tedious sometimes too), but I think the 'pointlessness' is moreso brought upon the treatment of it from the Board of Studies. Not many students fully understand what the directrix actually is (and I daresay even teachers too), and what the focus is.