Extension 2 questions for 2014? (1 Viewer)

eminka

HSC
Hello!

I'm completely new to this I honestly don't even know how I managed to get to this page, so I hope I'm writing this in the correct section! :(

I've just started my HSC and picked up extension 2... I'm still not sure if this was a good idea but hey, I can always just not submit...

So far, I've decided I'll probably write a series of short stories, I have an idea on the framework and concept but I'm not 100% positive. My questions for all you knowledgeable people are:

1. How many short stories would be the ideal? Is there an average?
2. I've been told I can write, I've been winging my whole high school education up until this point so I'm quite nervous to trust myself with actually taking time to write. What's the best way of staying up to date, on top and to not burn out?
3. What's the easiest way to deal with judgement on your writing? I HATE people reading my work (even my teacher), so this whole proposal, peer editing situation which they've come up with and general judgement frightens the shit out of me!

Thankyou! :)

grape

HSC
hey i just started ee2 as well, take it easy :) im doing one short story, my teacher told me the most important thing right now is research and investigation about what you plan to do.
to answer your question, i wouldn't stress myself with a bunch of short stories, work on one and smash that one, perfect it. also, no matter the criticism, always take it as constructive criticism and not destructive :) good luck

and PM me if you need anything :wavey:

lochnessmonsta

Booging
HSC
Uni Grad
1 - I would discuss that with your teacher, I only did one myself and that is the most common. Although a nice idea might be to write a couple of short stories that all link together somehow.