• Want to take part in this year's BoS Trials event for Maths and/or Business Studies?
    Click here for details and register now!
  • YOU can help the next generation of students in the community!
    Share your trial papers and notes on our Notes & Resources page

Dr Du vs Private tutoring (2 Viewers)

s97127

HSC
I understand and agree with your point but there is another scenario: if I was a disciplined student who is willing to spend hours solving a question, why should I pay $2000/term for 4u course at dr du while I can pay $70/week for lessons from a tutor who has gone to dr du before? I will have access to dr du resources at a cheaper rate and help me with very difficult questions.

ExtremelyBoredUser

Bored Uni Student
HSC
Honestly I see no point doing Dr Du unless you go to Ruse or you want a really competitive environment. Some of the questions there are copied form UNSW worksheets and at times they can be a little random such as learning the cross product or doing uni type Qs but one thing that can be said is that you'll be very ahead of your peers.

I just don't see a reason to break the bank, 1.2-3k per term I believe, for this since you can utilise online resources to kickstart yourself however this opinion holds no weight since I haven't tried it out. If I'd want a tutor I'd go for private since at times its more cheaper as well as you'll be able to receive more attention and help since its small classes or it could be one-to-one.

Self study is a great skill and I'd highly suggest people try studying themself for a bit but if you need a tutor there's no shame in rolling out the bucks esp. if your parents can afford it and they think its the best for you.

Anyways in university its all self-study. Its a hail mary if you get a decent or good professor but you'll find most lectures are not the same quality as say online videos or study notes.