Transferring from USYD to UNSW (Engineering) (1 Viewer)

Horses88

HSC
N/A
I am thinking of transferring to UNSW after my first semester at USYD due to poor teaching and facilities. My main concern is the trimester system at UNSW, it seems extremely fast paced and I see a lot of complaints regarding it. Therefore, how are you doing at UNSW and are you coping fine over there?

I am also an international student and don't have a part time job or anything like that at the moment, so not sure if that would affect my trimester experience. It also does not matter if my holiday don't align with my friends.

any input would be greatly appreciated 🙏

wollongong warrior

HSC
Trimester system is fine
I reckon the only reason for its bad rep is because people don't want 3 intense final exam seasons per year, which is fair
As long as you keep on track with problems sets and content, e.g. some light work between start of trimester and midterms, and then focus up until finals, you'll do great

Horses88

HSC
N/A
Trimester system is fine
I reckon the only reason for its bad rep is because people don't want 3 intense final exam seasons per year, which is fair
As long as you keep on track with problems sets and content, e.g. some light work between start of trimester and midterms, and then focus up until finals, you'll do great
I see, thanks. I haven't done physics in a while and my mathematics foundation isn't strong at the moment so I am a bit worried that if I don't understand the content, I will probably have a really hard time catching up.

wollongong warrior

HSC
I see, thanks. I haven't done physics in a while and my mathematics foundation isn't strong at the moment so I am a bit worried that if I don't understand the content, I will probably have a really hard time catching up.
For engineering, the first physics course (Phys1121 or Phys1131) are pass fail, so literally just do problem sets and you'll get a minimum 50% which is all you need