A question. I started studying today... (1 Viewer)

hall of mirrors

HSC
I am doing a past paper, 2004, and i came across this question:

"“It is wishful thinking to suppose that we all see art in the same way; contexts change and so do our perceptions. “

Account for the ways beliefs and attitudes shape our perceptions of the art of the past. "

It says that it is under 'frames', but I am confused as to how I would interpret this question with frames, I would have thought it was about the conceptual framework?

...help?? Art theory really doesnt come that naturally to me..

shortie_689

HSC
is that the question that has like photos of junk an stuff that is all different kinda like a collection of items that describe a persons life in a way

xox_eMz_xox

HSC
^^ yeh i agree with that.
I guess i should start studying soon ay.. its been too long since my last exam i feel like i've finished

hall of mirrors

HSC
i second that

TELL ME ABOUT IT. I 'v had days to study but so far havent moved a pen. Two days to go :D

p.s thanks for that, i guess i really dont know my stuff. im sitting here trying to structure a conceptual framework essay, and i cant even work out what i'm supposed to be dealing with =\

HSC
N/A
My art teacher (a Senior HSC marker up until last year, and Assistant Supervisor of BOW Marking) says it's best if you're not too strong at art theory, to go with the conceptual framework questions, as they are much more accessible. I believe he is right.

For example (from the HSC 2004 paper)
A 'PRACTICE' QUESTION

Art historian Michael Baxandall argues that:
‘A fifteenth-century painting is the deposit of a social relationship. On the one
side there was a painter who made the picture, or at least supervised its making.
On the other side there was somebody else who asked him to make it.’

Discuss the significance of social relationships to the practice of architects/designers and/or other practitioners.