• Want to help us with this year's BoS Trials?
    Let us know before 30 June. See this thread for details
  • Looking for HSC notes and resources?
    Check out our Notes & Resources page

about nuclear chem (1 Viewer)

lulushang

HSC
hello people, i am an oversea student...now i face some tricky ques...well, at least tracky for me in nuclear chem. so Can any body give me a hand?

Q:Describe methods by which nuclear transformations can be induced

can any body knows where i can find the information about Technetium-99m and Sodium-24???

lulushang

HSC
thanx mate ...sooooooooooooooooooooooooooo much

can anybody tell me whats nuclear transformation? how can i describe the method????
thanx again

mitochondria

*Rawr*!
HSC
When we are looking at nuclear transformation we consider both nuclear decay and nuclear reactions.

Nuclear decay is when an unstable istope split into smaller components.. There are several types of nuclear, namely alpha, beta, gamma and positron. The type of decay can be predicted by looking at the Nuclear/Proton ratio (N/Z from here and on):

1. When an atom has too many protons (thus a small N/Z), it preferrs to reduce the number of protons to increase the N/Z value. This can be achieved by positron emission or electron capture where protons are transformed into neutrons.

2. If an atom has too many neutrons (thus a high N/Z) it would undergo beta decay in which a neutrons are transformed into a proton + an electron and this decreases the N/Z value.

3. If an atom has too many of both protons and neutrons then it is most likely to undergo alpha decay, where alpha particles (Helium atoms) are ejected from the nucleus.

Reference: Silberberg CHEMISTRY 3rd edition