Ancient History Site, Help and Questions - Read More (1 Viewer)

Patar

0101 0000
HSC
Okay, I know especially with those of you who do Sparta for your HSC, there are a decided lack of credible sources on the internet. Well, I'm not here to judge my own site - you can judge if its a credible source or not.

I try to quote modern and ancient historians, I'll admit myself I am a student studying at Gosford High School.

This site covers FOUR topic areas, at present TWO are being done - Pompeian areas and lots Spartan areas of the syllabus is up there already.

www.arcanehistory.com

The front page only shows the 15 most RECENT posts, you'll need to navigate to Sparta or Pompeii, and to read the entire articles click on their red titles.

Tell me if you like the layout, information, use of sources, etc. I take your feedback seriously and with apprehension :)

Patar

0101 0000
HSC
You are referring to my writing style on Pompeii? Sparta is a more ancient-and-modern historian explanation topic, Pompeii is very much descriptive, and 'what we find out about...'

I'll try and improve it. I am told my Spartan work is of higher quality.

redox

HSC
It's a nice idea and I'll take some time to read through your stuff and offer suggestions...but I wasn't sure if you're encouraging us to use your website itself as a source?

Last edited:

Patar

0101 0000
HSC
Yeah, you can use it as a source, or give me feedback on how it's going; I get the information from a range of sources, for example the ones on Pompeii I'm using Open High School notes, Toni Hurley's 'Antiquity 3', 'Secrets of Vesuvius' (not very good this book, sorry Kate Cameron!), Brian Brennan + Estelle Lazer's 'Pompeii and Herculaneum: Interpreting the evidence', and Pamela Bradley's 'Cities of Vesuvius'. Plus any ancient sources I can find cited on the net.