Anyone doing B Commerce/Arts ?? (1 Viewer)

shoxgeneration

*pamplemousse
HSC
Hey, I was just wondering if anyone here is doing Comm/Arts @ USyd (or will be) and if so...........

- what do you think of the Commerce component of the degree? the lecturers, tute's, just the commerce side of it mainly?

- if anyone's doing Marketing or International Business - do you enjoy it/what do you think of it? same with Art History/Theory?

- For first year, how many days a week is it usually? Is the timetable flexible at all (as in, would they allow you to change a lecture/tutorial session if you needed to?)

Any feedback would be greatly appreciated!
Thanks a lot. :D

stazi

Nightman
HSC
I am majoring in BOTH marketing and IBUS.

Marketing is fantastic, but you do have to have a creative mind. The USYD marketing program is arguably the best in NSW.
IBUS is pointless on its own, but supplements other majors quite nicely.

What was your UAI? If you can get in to either:
B Commerce or B Economic and Social Sciences @ USYD, perhaps you should do that instead (rather than switch from one uni to another).
This is because you'll be able to transfer with about a mid credit average to commerce/arts and its much better to stay at one uni for the duration of your degree (you get used to the methods of assessment, administration, etc).

If you want to see how the lecturers are like, there's a thread on subject reviews. Check out the PDF.

Depending on luck, you'll be at uni for about 3-5 days a week, the average being 4. You can change your timetable (best to come to the timetable changing place in person). First year subjects are a lot more flexible, as a lot of people do them.

Last edited:

shoxgeneration

*pamplemousse
HSC
haha hey staz, thanks for responding to my constant questions about com @ usyd :p you're probably dead bored of them now.. (but are there really no one ELSE on here that does it?!)

stazi said:
What was your UAI? If you can get in to either: