• Want to help us with this year's BoS Trials?
    Let us know before 30 June. See this thread for details
  • Looking for HSC notes and resources?
    Check out our Notes & Resources page

Bachelor of engg/comm at unsw (1 Viewer)

Amayataiyou

HSC
I'm currently studying engineering and commerce at unsw but I figured that I would prefer to go into banks/ investment banking when I graduate. So I was wondering if my engineering marks (WAM) would play any part in me getting hired or would they just mainly look at my commerce marks. Also I heard that the cut-off for investment banking is a HD WAM in commerce, is this true?

Chronost

Ex CAG auditor - current CAG deal-maker
HSC
Marks play a significant part in getting an a role in an investment bank because of it's competitiveness. In short yes they'll look at your engo marks as well for an overall WAM, however they understand Engo is a "harder" degree in the sense of obtaining a good WAM so they'll give some room for your engo marks compared to your commerce marks. Note it's not just going to be your marks, you also need solid ECs/Awards etc..

Amayataiyou

HSC
As for WAMs, do they give a WAM every semester, then a final WAM at the end of the course which is the average of all the total WAMs or do they have a different way of working it out. Also, do we have a separate WAM for engo and commerce or a combined one. Thanks!

Chronost

Ex CAG auditor - current CAG deal-maker
HSC
As for WAMs, do they give a WAM every semester, then a final WAM at the end of the course which is the average of all the total WAMs or do they have a different way of working it out. Also, do we have a separate WAM for engo and commerce or a combined one. Thanks!
This is just depends on the reviewer (HR or an Associate looking through the pile)