• Want to help us with this year's BoS Trials?
    Let us know before 30 June. See this thread for details
  • Looking for HSC notes and resources?
    Check out our Notes & Resources page

Band 6 for Standard (1 Viewer)

S

systemx

Why is it so hard to get a band 6 in standard but relatively easy for those in advance? Advance is suppose to be harder than standard, but each year I see more students getting a band 6 in advance than in standard. I'm currently a year 11 student doing standard at Sefton and I'm very worried about those statistics. Is it because the markers are tough or is it because most students are just plain stupid? Please explain!

hipsta_jess

Up the mighty red V
HSC
N/A
*IMO* it is because essay writing is taught in a different way in Adv to Std (according to my old english teacher, HT english/Snr HSC marker), something about linking points together or something, adds to the cohesiveness of the peice, increasing marks.

QuaCk

they assume that if you can get a band6 in standard, that you should be doing advanced english. case being .... standard is somewhat capped at a certain mark. from what i recall, i think 2 people? got band 6 for standard in 04. not sure, but it wasn't that many.

HSC
i was told by someone who did their hsc 2 years ago whatever result you get in standard english is * 0.9

that good be full of shit

my guess is because of the strictness of marking, they see as standard english as easy and mark like nazis?

sNiPeR_24

Fo' shizzle
HSC
I'm doing Standard English and I also think it is unfair how they seem to cap the marks they give to us for assessment tasks.
For example in the first HSC AOS task at my school, the top mark in Standard was 45/60 whereas in Advanced this mark would have been thoroughly substandard as the top mark was 59/60.

I hope it doesn't reflect to negatively upon my UAI though. But I've seen people at my school get UAI's in the 95.00+ range even with marks as low as 77 for the HSC exam in standard English.