Browing's poetry--Porphyria's Lover (1 Viewer)

steffiduck

HSC
i've been searching the forum looking for help, but i'd hit march 06 with no threads about browning, so i thought id start one up

basically, i am having trouble linking Porphyria's lover to the "Individual and Society". i kinda have the idea its about rigid class structure, but im not very good at articulating it into an essay with text analysis etc

help please!!! i hate (and therefore am crap at understanding) poetry, so i need as much help as i can get.

finishline

HSC
steffiduck said:
i've been searching the forum looking for help, but i'd hit march 06 with no threads about browning, so i thought id start one up

basically, i am having trouble linking Porphyria's lover to the "Individual and Society". i kinda have the idea its about rigid class structure, but im not very good at articulating it into an essay with text analysis etc

help please!!! i hate (and therefore am crap at understanding) poetry, so i need as much help as i can get.
hiya, we're doing that text as well, i know what u mean in saying that your having trouble to link it to the individual in society, im not sure if im 100% correct but i think it not only has to with rigid class structure but also with an individual link to religion. eg in the last few lines the guy who she shaving an affair with says that GOd has'nt said a word, which means that he has taken into consideration what Gods views are on his doings. hence it links to the religous paradigm in the individuals society.
i had something else 2 add but i 4got wat it was ill type it l8er if i remember, hope u found it useful so far, gud luk

steffiduck

HSC
finishline said: