economics majors (1 Viewer)

i-color

Just want to ask...are there only THREE majors to choose from for economics? I'm doing economics/law....which means i can only do one major. does that mean my major is either going to be economics, economoetrics or financial economics?

What's the difference between them? So i won't be able to do finance or international biz and all those? And doesn't it sound weird if you say you have a economics degree and you majored in economics?

Minai

Alumni
HSC
Uni Grad
Originally posted by i-color
Just want to ask...are there only THREE majors to choose from for economics? I'm doing economics/law....which means i can only do one major. does that mean my major is either going to be economics, economoetrics or financial economics?

What's the difference between them? So i won't be able to do finance or international biz and all those? And doesn't it sound weird if you say you have a economics degree and you majored in economics?
theres actually a fourth - economic history
so yes ur major in eco/law will be one of those 4
financial economics is pretty similar to a finance major - except u have more quantitative skills than a person with a finance major
econometrics is a much more quantitative based major than economics, it means ur gonna b working more with the mathematics of economics rather anything else

i-color

ohhh.....so which one would you recommend? my friend says economoetrics is very useful nowadays because economics has become so quantitive.....but i don't really like mathematics. Is economics major just plain economic theory etc?

Minai

Alumni
HSC
Uni Grad
ohhh.....so which one would you recommend? my friend says economoetrics is very useful nowadays because economics has become so quantitive.....but i don't really like mathematics. Is economics major just plain economic theory etc?
yes econometrics will get u the most jobs, but yes a lot of maths/stats