German Help. (1 Viewer)

alex19

HSC
Hi,
I actually dont do German for my HSC, But i am doing a drama monologue which has german phrases and words, which i need to know how to say, i live in the Noth Sydney and would love some assistance, either in person or over the phone. my email is alextaye89@hotmail.com
thanking in advance,
Alex

mos3s

HSC
aye guys!!!
im in year 10 and im thinkin of doing german next year
my friends german and he reckons its fair hard to learn
i was just wondering what people out there doing thinks of it
cya!!

alcalder

Just ask for help
HSC
N/A
Hi mos3s,

All Germans think that their language is really hard because of the three genders with "the" and other such Grammar stuff. However, I was a very average German student and I really enjoyed it and did not find it hard. The hard bit for me was learning vocab - still is. But German is a very logical language with some set rules that are easy to learn (and its a heck of fun to speak!).

So, I would go for it. But then again, I'm biassed ;)

X

xeuyrawp

Hey thanks for that as well. I'm doing a German for reading purposes course this year, and starting German properly next year.

Quick question: In the passive section, you said that it changes the empasis from the subject to the object. Are you sure that's right?

alcalder

Just ask for help
HSC
N/A
Passive voice is this:

The boy was bitten by the dog.

It can also be said:

The boy was bitten.

The boy is the subject of the sentence.

The active sentence is:

The dog bit the boy.

"The dog" is the doer and now the subject of the sentence and "the boy" is the object.

So, yes, turning something into passive voice turns the object into the subject.

Passiv - Der Junge wurde (vom Hund) gebissen.

Aktiv - Der Hund hat den Jungen gebissen.

Active voice is usual. Passive voice is used a lot during television and radio news reports. Writing stories in the passive voice is bad practice ;) (that's the author in me speaking)

ellen.louise

HSC