High Court fences lawyers off from blame (1 Viewer)

Rorix

HSC
we should clearly sue the judge of the original trial for not instructing the jury properly.

MoonlightSonata

Retired
HSC
N/A
It's not that you can't sue us, its just that you can't see lawyers for negligence in relation to trial matters.

Jonathan A

HSC
transcendent said:
What a crock a shit! I demand that I be allowed to sue lawyers! :mad:

I think otherwise. The high court have upheld many times that lawyers have immunity.

Jonathan A

HSC
Rorix said:
I AM AN OUTRAGED TEACHER.

I CAN SUE WHO I WANT.

You can only sue those you have a cause of action against. You could make a statement of claim, may not go very far.

I believe the relevant case in terms of suing legal practititoners is Giannarelli v Wraith (1988) - the logic being that lawyers have an obligation to the court which can conflict with their obligations to their clients, hence their obligations to court will always take priority, so you cannot sue under negligence for trial matters.

Rorix

HSC
Jonathan A said:
You can only sue those you have a cause of action against. You could make a statement of claim, may not go very far.

I believe the relevant case in terms of suing legal practititoners is Giannarelli v Wraith (1988) - the logic being that lawyers have an obligation to the court which can conflict with their obligations to their clients, hence their obligations to court will always take priority, so you cannot sue under negligence for trial matters.

DONT MAKE ME STRIKE YOU WITH MY PROTEST SIGN

IM OUT RAGED

MY RAGE IS OUT

tWiStEdD

deity of ultimate reason
HSC
Moonlight, you cant sue lawyers (barristers or solicitors) for anything "intimately related to [their] work," or words to that effect, as a result of this case :) 'trial matters' is a little misleading ;)