how do i interpret all this info (1 Viewer)

Ghost1788

HSC
Hi i am a yr 12 student and i am interested to applying for the Software Engineering Course but I have no clue how to interpret this page....

http://www.handbook.unsw.edu.au/undergraduate/programs/2005/3648.html

Can someone help me...also what are the prerequisites for this course *excuse spelling*

I have understood it to be Ext 1 Mathematics and Physics/Chemistry...are there also mark requirements as well if so what are they...

Thanks in advance

McLake

The Perfect Nerd
HSC
Hi Ghost1788,

Note that prerequisites no longer exist at UNSW. This course does however have Math Ext 1 as "assumed knowledge", meaning that you are not prevented from enrolling if you have not done Ext 1, it is just easier to complete some courses (such as Maths 1A) if it is background knowledge.

[EDIT]: I assume you got your information from the UAC table. Note that this is incorrect.

Last edited:

Ghost1788

HSC
Ok so theres no prerequisites...
1) wat is required of me to get in?
2) how do i interpret the page on my opening post?

I currently do
3U Mathematics
2U Chemistry
2U Physics
2U STD English
2U Software Design and Development
1U Studies of Religion

McLake

The Perfect Nerd
HSC
1) All you need to do is get the required UAI (and obviously apply, blah, blah). Your 3U Maths will help (as noted above).

2) Which section of that page?

Ghost1788

HSC
umm....all of it especially regarding the stages and the subjects and the UOC

sunny

meh.
HSC
Ghost1788 said:
umm....all of it especially regarding the stages and the subjects and the UOC
At UNSW a program (eg, Software Engineering) is made up of a collection of subjects. At the completion of those subjects, you will get your degree (Bachelor Of Engineering)

School has 4 terms a year, uni on the other hand has two semesters a year.