How long did it take you to feel confident-ish on your L's? (1 Viewer)

Hannelore

HSC
I'm pretty old to have my learner license; nearly 22. I think I was about 19 when I got it but only had a single lesson (with an instructor) before having to put it on the backburner due to financial commitments (didn't have anyone who could teach me so my only option was/is professional lessons).

I had a lesson on Tuesday and found it absolutely nerve-wracking and confidence-smashing. It's been a long time since I was such an absolute beginner at anything, so it could just be that I'm not really used to it, but I found it really HARD. The steering is especially difficult; my brain understands the hand over hand technique but my hands just seemed to have trouble cooperating.

I have another lesson tomorrow; I get that I'm a REALLY beginner driver right now, but most of the people I knew in high school seemed to really enjoy driving and pick it up in time to get their red P's really quick.

Apologies for the longish post, but I've been wondering how long it took you to feel like you really had the hang of driving? I'd really like to have a vague idea so I don't get too discouraged, although I understand that different people might learn at different rates with this, so a ballpark? :)

Thanks!

Queenroot

I complete the Squar3
HSC
N/A
Fuck

you just reminded me I'm like almost 21 and still L's

I am not confident driving and it didn't help I wasted money on a shitty instructor who would yell at me

Trebla

Administrator
Administrator
HSC
It took me at least 30-40 hours of legit driving until I was confident enough to drive around smoothly.

D94

HSC
N/A
I think I had around 90 hours when I did a Sydney to Goulburn drive. I did drive daily though, but almost always the same route (since it was to school and back). Can't remember how long it took to be 'confident', but please, confidence for any driver, even an experienced driver, should not overreach into over-confidence.