how many quotes should i have for my eng essay… (1 Viewer)

mvrcuriee

#1 SK
HSC
for my academically gifted in English people, how many do u guys use? (in context for hsc essays for common mod, mod A & B)

I think for my recent mod A, i used like 4 for each text, when comparing hagseed and tempest

aqwerty13402

HSC
i feel like there isn't a set number, but that seems ok. wouldn't do any less tho. but also i fucking hate english and being in that classroom makes me want to swallow those little circular batteries, so im not an expert.

elliott07

HSC
for my academically gifted in English people, how many do u guys use? (in context for hsc essays for common mod, mod A & B)

I think for my recent mod A, i used like 4 for each text, when comparing hagseed and tempest
from my English teacher she says that blocked quotes are fine however high band responses use sort of like short chunked quotes throughout the body paragraph if that makes sense? and obviously with that for mod a your linking back to context, literary techniques (and film techniques if your doing a film) and addressing the question throughout. I think that having short extracts from your texts throughout just gives the paragraph more heft and shows you have a good overall understanding of the text.

Last edited:

elliott07

HSC
Screen Shot 2024-05-09 at 7.39.29 pm.png

I can't find my English Adv mod A paper but this is an example from an English extension 1 task that I did it got a 10/10 and I used the small chunked quotes method here. keep in mind that this is an extension 1 task on Seamus Heany's poetry not advanced however, Id say with advanced you should do something similar to this with your quotes. In a Mod A context I would be doing this and linking back to context and especially values throughout the essay.

mvrcuriee

#1 SK
HSC