How to Improve in English? (1 Viewer)

IceOnFire

HSC
What do you think are the most effective ways of improving English? Is it expanding the vocabulary, or writing more practice essays?

I really need to improve my English skills and marks by next year since it counts towards the UAI.

Any tips would be great. :D

We can also discuss on how to improve on other subjects if you want.

See this thread is school related, don't get off topic people.. ;)

tlodg

HSC
N/A
Read more novels (or any other books you find interesting) and don't try to memorise grammar 'rules'. Good idea to practice writting essays, but you can also look at 'model' essays and learn from them.

IceOnFire

HSC
So you recommend getting the student answers from the previous HSC?

Do you think I should get English study guides for the texts I am studying? Are they even remotely helpful?

anniea89

HSC
yep, there are some really good study guides out there.

But you don't always have to use them. I only used mine when I was really desperate

lulabelle

HSC
LottoX said:
Write more practice essays and hand them in to your teacher to mark.
teachers are usually more than happy to mark any essays you write and the feedback is really useful

airie

airie <3 avatars :)
HSC
Manage your time well?

I had ticks throughout my essay for the yearly exam, but still got a horrible, horrible mark cos I didn't finish. And it was quite obviously so, I was making a whole new point in my very last paragraph which didn't sound anything like a conclusion :p

RiCkiE

HSC
IceOnFire said:
What do you think are the most effective ways of improving English? Is it expanding the vocabulary, or writing more practice essays?

I really need to improve my English skills and marks by next year since it counts towards the UAI.

Any tips would be great. :D

We can also discuss on how to improve on other subjects if you want.

See this thread is school related, don't get off topic people.. ;)