• Want to take part in this year's BoS Trials event for Maths and/or Business Studies?
    Click here for details and register now!
  • YOU can help the next generation of students in the community!
    Share your trial papers and notes on our Notes & Resources page

is English Extension 1 too hard for ESL students? (1 Viewer)

aime_musique

HSC
Hi I'm an ESL student. I came to AU last year. I need to choose my HSC subjects next year.
I'm in a selective school so we don't have ESL as a HSC subject.

General English is okay but it's hard to get a high ATAR. Is Extension 1 English too hard for ESL students?
If it is, i'll have to consider to change to a private school and do ESL;)

So ESL, General English or Extension 1?
Advice pls.

Thanks!

Queenroot

I complete the Squar3
HSC
N/A
It's Advanced English and it's better than Standard English.
Do Advanced if you think Extension 1 is too hard.

Mikasa

HSC
The markers are more picky, so I guess it's harder in that sense. It is definitely a lot more enjoyable than Advanced English (or General English, if you will) because it allows for so much more creativity in your arguments, and ultimately your writing.

dangerouss

cindy is such a bitch
HSC
Depends on how competent you are with English, have you done English before ? If yes, to what extent? Are there prerequisites for ext 1 English? You need to take these questions into consideration before deciding as you need to pick the course best suited to your ability and interest. Any ATAR is possible with any combination of subjects :) Good luck,
dangerouss

strawberrye

Premium Member
HSC
Uni Grad