Is Politics, Philosophy & Economics (PPE) @ ANU worth studying? 2022 (1 Viewer)

Which double degree should I study?

• Total voters

unlikelywordthief

HSC
Hi Folks,

I am a prospective student looking at studying at the Australian National University with either:

Law / PPE

OR

Law / Economics

Thoughts & suggestions on each of the following?

1. I have read many threads suggesting PPE is a glorified arts degree. Is this true?
  2. Many people I know say they really enjoy studying PPE. Is it advantageous in terms of employability?
  3. Is studying B Economics more advantageous than study B PPE? How much of a quantitative edge does it provide?
  4. Are you able to simply skew your PPE courses more towards economics for a similar education? Is the amount of economics enough?
  5. Are double degrees worth it in the first place?

Note I'm not really sure what career to pursue post-study.

jimmysmith560

Le Phénix Trilingue
HSC
Uni Grad
1. I would be inclined to believe that this is not true. From what I have observed, a Bachelor of Arts and a Bachelor of Politics, Philosophy and Economics do not share a substantial connection, with the former degree being a much more multifaceted degree than the latter. This means that, in the case of the Bachelor of Arts, there is a multitude of fields of study that can be explored, with different universities offering anywhere between ~25 and up to ~70 majors. The Bachelor of Politics, Philosophy and Economics does not offer this and instead focuses specifically on politics, philosophy and economics.